Step Away And Get Clear

Sometimes you just need to step away and get clear.

I’ve found myself feeling a little guilty lately that I haven’t posted a blog in over a month. IClarity. Yet another amazing pencil drawing. LOVE her work. was feeling like I was supposed to(which is always a good indicator of untruth), or if I didn’t it meant I wasn’t committed. Then there was the other part of my brain, the creative side that said – but I’ve got nothing to say. Which is funny because my mind is always running at warp speed. What I’ve determined though is that I have been spread in so many directions and putting so much of me into multiple efforts that I just had nothing left. Even for something I’m passionate about and enjoy.

Several times in the past month I have sat down and drafted a blog post, only to determine that I wasn’t even interested in reading it – why the heck would you be. I was trying to force it.

And this got me thinking…

What other things in my life am I forcing? And as a result am I delivering something that is less than what I’m capable of or than others- and I deserve?

Are you trying to be everything to everyone and as a result being less than you can be? My teacher and life coach Dr. Martha Beck describes a cycle of play. Rest until you feel like playing and play until you feel like resting. Play is a broad term, it includes all that you’re passionate about, all that drives you. Your play may be your work, it may be your fitness routine, it maybe your spiritual discipline, it may be caring for your family. But whatever it is, you must find the balance in your life and take the time to rest and rejuvenate so that you can be at your best when it’s time to play again.

I’m feeling rested now – so it’s time to play! Game on!

About Sheri Bennefeld

Vacation or Workation - it's all the same when you seek the extraordinary in each moment.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Life Coaching, martha beck, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Step Away And Get Clear

  1. Sheri, Great words. Let’s play!!

  2. eof737 says:

    Welcome back to blogging… We missed you. I enjoyed this piece as it is a great reminder that we should play only when we feel rested and ready… 🙂
    TY for your patience as I have been adjusting to a changed schedule … Glad to comment again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

