Your Spirit Needs Gratitude

Yesterday (March 11) devastation hit the county of Japan. A massive earthquake followed by a land swallowing tsunami. In my peripheral mind I was aware that the event had occurred but was heads down in my own daily life and work. It wasn’t until this morning when I woke that I took the time to sit down and learn what was really happening on the other side of the world. What I saw left me heartbroken.

The images of whole cities being washed way, cars driving down the road being swallowed up by a wall of water, people on the rooftops begging for rescue. It’s really inconceivable to me what these people are going through – those who have survived.

I’m not one to dwell on the negative or to allow my spirit to be brought down by the events around me. I believe our collective energy as humans needs a positive balance to help those in need find peace and strength. So, today I find myself counting my blessings and reflecting on the things that I’m grateful for. I make a practice of being grateful everyday, but today especially. Today I express my gratitudes on behalf of those who have little to be grateful for.

Today I’m grateful for:

A warm safe home, hot water, electricity, family, my dog, hot coffee, the internet, my netbook, my upcoming workation, a washer and dryer(clean clothes), safe drinking water, friends, wine, my ugg slippers, my health, meaningful work, my eye sight, laws that help protect us, my ability to reason, and soooooo much more.

Be grateful today, be grateful everyday. We owe it to those who can’t find their way to gratitude now.  There is always something to be grateful for – it might just be that you’re able to read this!

About Sheri Bennefeld

Vacation or Workation - it's all the same when you seek the extraordinary in each moment.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Your Spirit Needs Gratitude

  1. Sandie says:

    Sheri,

    Thank you for the great reminder about gratitude. I too am grateful for the very basics in life that we take for granted every day. I’m grateful for my wonderful friends and family…and so very much more.

    The devastation in Japan is almost incomprehensible…my heart hurts for all of Japan.

    Sandie

  2. eof737 says:

    The events have given all of us pause… gratitude for what we have and for life is important in this time. My heart goes out to all in Japan.
    Thank you,
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

