Girlfriend Travel Has Grown Up

It never really ceases to amaze me that there are women out there in this crazy big world who have never been on a girlfriend getaway. Sadder yet, many of them have never even had a girls night out. I think I’ll make it my life’s work to get every “girl” on a girlfriend getaway before it’s too late. And by too late I mean, she’s in the grave. I don’t think it’s ever too late to start spending quality time with the girls.

For my mother’s generation this concept was nearly blasphemous. A woman did not leave her husband and certainly not her children at home so that she could run off acting like she didn’t have a care in the world. For one thing, it just wouldn’t look right. What would people think? Particularly for married women. Those days of running off with the girls ends when you get married – not any more!

I vividly remember a time in my 20’s when many of my friends were beginning to get married. I was having lunch with my mom one day and telling her about an upcoming girls camping trip. I was telling her who was going and mentioned my friend Nancy. My mother got a strange look on her face and said with a questioning tone, “doesn’t her husband mind if she goes?” Well, the thought had never entered my mind and I’m certain it never entered Nancy’s either.  We took for granted our girlfriend time and we understood the value of that time together. It occurred to me that day that the women of my mother’s generation would never have considered such an event, let alone making an annual pilgrimage of if.

Today most women have their own income, many are dominate wage earners in the family and many more are choosing not to marry or to marry later in life. Today women’s travel is the fastest growing segment in the travel industry and probably the most lucrative demographic in travel. All of these factors have contributed to the rise in women’s travel. But perhaps the greatest reason for the increase in this sector of travel is the realization by women that we don’t and can not get all of our emotional needs met through our spouses and families. In order to be whole, we need other women – friends in our lives.

Friends provide a balance in our life. The addition of girlfriends in our lives does not diminish the relationships that we have with our families but rather strengthens it by bringing each of us more to offer to others. When we gain a greater appreciation for the world, become more independent and have confidants that we can share our thoughts and feeling with, we become more whole for the people who need us most.

I’ve been blessed to always have many great girlfriends in my life. Multiple groups of girlfriends. When I hear women say that they really don’t have any close friends I can’t quite imagine what life must be like.  I also can’t help but wonder why.

Get out there and make some friends!

If this is you, if you are one of those women who find yourself lacking in the girlfriend department, it’s time to take action. Good friends don’t just appear in your life, you have to make it happen. Get involved, find activities that interest you and surround yourself with women with those same interests. Join a book club, or a knitting club, or scrap booking group or a wine club. Whatever your thing is, make the effort and make it a goal. Your life will be richer for it and your family will be the benefactors.

If you’re looking for a fun way to get to know other women and you don’t have a group to travel with, consider joining in with other women who love to travel. Check out my friend Janet’s website – www.girlsonacruise.com. Janet organizes cruises for “the girls”. What a great way to get away, meet new friends and form some life long relationships.

Make this the year you get away with the girls!

About Sheri Bennefeld

Vacation or Workation - it's all the same when you seek the extraordinary in each moment.
This entry was posted in girlfriend getaway, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Girlfriend Travel Has Grown Up

  1. eof737 says:

    Sheri,
    You are so right. It is such fun to gather and do things with girlfriends especially traveling… I must confess that after I got married and had my kids, I didn’t do as much girlfriend stuff. But now my kids are older and I’m back on track… very heartwarming.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I look forward to more of your posts. 🙂
    Eliz

  2. Sandie says:

    Loved the post (as always) Sheri. What a PERFECT topic. I don’t know WHO I would be without my girlfriends and our trips!

  3. Tracy says:

    Having just returned from a girlfriend weekend in NYC, I wholeheartedly agree! There’s definitely a mystical, magical and powerful energy generated when close women friends spend time together away from jobs, families, and other obligations. Otherwise, how could we keep functioning with so little sleep and so much wine??

Leave a Reply

