From San Jose to NY and Beyond

2011 is going to be a great year! Can you feel it? I do, there is momentum in the air and a general feeling of optimism and new possibility, it’s very exciting.

 

On my way!

As a girl who loves to travel I’m finding my calendar already beginning to fill will fun adventures, vacations, workations and get-aways. Right now I’m in the planning phase of 4 Workations, 1 Girlfriend Getaway, and 1 Vacation.

My first workation begins in just 4 days when I fly to San Jose for the ASTD Technowledge conference. I’m very excited about the trip for several reasons.

First, it’s a great conference and a great learning opportunity. And as a training and events manager I am normally the one planning and running the event with very little time to actually take in the learning opportunities – and I’m a learning junkie. So, it’s a huge treat for me to get to be the attendee for a change.

Second, I’m excited because I get to leave the snowy frozen tundra of Minnesota for a few days and thaw out in some California sunshine.

Third, it’s workation! And outside of the conference I intend to explore the San Jose area. I’ve got a few ideas in the back of my mind but will play it by ear when I get there.

Topping the list of free time activities are: a visit to Stanford, Palo Alto, a winery in the Santa Clara mountains, and a trip into San Francisco. We’ll see what feels right at the time and what other great possibilities might appear.

And fourth, I’m excited because I’ll get to see my great friends Dave and Jen. That’s a bonus on top of a great trip.

Next up on the workation schedule, New York! My goal every time I go to NY is to do something different and to see a new part of the city. So, I have some planning to do. I have a couple of free evenings so I’ll get to stop in at some of my favorite spots as well, like Nancy’s Whiskey Pub in Tribeca. Always a great stop, especially on a Saturday afternoon, they get a good day drinking crowd – and by crowd, that would be about 15 people. It’s a very small bar.

Aside from being a workation, NY is also a chance for me to spend time with some of my very favorite people including my grateful group. They say you are the sum total of the people you spend the most time with and after a few days with these friends I feel renewed, energized and ready to take on the world.

I’m feeling very grateful today that I have these opportunities in my life to explore and experience new places and spend time with smart, optimistic and fun people. I’ll be busy planning and traveling over the next four months and I can’t wait!

Life is an adventure.

About Sheri Bennefeld

Vacation or Workation - it's all the same when you seek the extraordinary in each moment.
This entry was posted in Girlfriend Getaways, travel, Uncategorized, Workation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From San Jose to NY and Beyond

  1. suzicate says:

    From Cold Minnie to Sunny Cali…sounds like a fun adventure, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

