In Terms of Travel

I was having a great conversation with a friend the other day about travel. We found that we have the same idea about what constitutes a “vacation”. The conversation got me thinking about my definitions of the many types of travel and I thought I’d share them here.

Vacation: I’ll start with vacation because it’s probably my favorite type of travel. To me vacation is about relaxation, being horizontal, leaving agendas behind and living in the moment with no particular place to go. Two weeks in Jamaica is a vacation.

Trip: A trip is that well planned out action packed, gotta see it all and do it all outing. It’s the kind of travel that sometimes requires a vacation when it’s over. It’s fun, but it’s not about relaxing. Taking the family to Washington DC is a trip.

Visit: A visit is generally associated with seeing friends or family. It requires travel and might sometimes include seeing and doing new things. The majority of the time is spent catching up and sharing stories. Going to Grandma’s for Thanksgiving is a visit.

Workation: A workation combines the opportunity for business travel with living the best of what the area has to offer. It means taking full advantage of where you are. Being away from home for business can be a strain, but if you have to do it, make the most of it. Commit to it.  Hiking up Camelback Mountain after your business meeting in Phoenix is a workation.

Adventure: An adventure is all about exploring new territory and trying new things. Adventure might include pushing yourself to try new things and discover new lands. It’s the stuff of world travelers and adrenalin junkies. Cruising down the Nile is an adventure.

Staycation: A gitchy new term that I don’t particularly “get” but the idea is to take time off work and stay home and enjoy your own surrounding. While I can appreciate the notion, I too often hear of people taking staycations to paint the house, or do their taxes, or clean the garage. If I’m using my precious vacation time off, I’m hitting the road. There are way too many things to see and do and my list of long. So, for those of you who like staycations – rock on!

But I’ll be on vacation!

About Sheri Bennefeld

Vacation or Workation - it's all the same when you seek the extraordinary in each moment.
This entry was posted in travel, Workation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Terms of Travel

  1. Love it. And I always loved our workations! Enjoy your upcoming vacay! Miss you already!

    Dana

  2. Pingback: From to San Jose to NY and Beyond | Beyond the Beach

Leave a Reply

